Add, edit, and remove users in Backpack

In this article, learn how to add, edit, and remove users in your Backpack account.

If you are using an external rostering system (such as ClassLink, OneRoster, Clever, or the Google for Education App) - click here to learn more about how to manage users within the account. Click the name of the system to learn how to get set up!

Add users

If you are an owner or teacher in a Backpack account, you should have access to the user management page from your dashboard. Click the three-dot ellipsis button (...) on your dashboard and then Manage people.

There are a few ways you can bring people in: adding individuals manually, inviting multiple users at once, sharing an invite link, or enabling automatic account creation.

By default, teachers can add users to the Backpack account. If you do not want teachers to add users, you can adjust this permission from your Backpack settings. Learn more.

Add a single user

  1. Click the three-dot ellipsis button (...) > Manage people.
  2. Click Add New User.
  3. Select Add Single User.
  4. Fill in the required fields.
  • An email address is optional for student accounts.
  • The username is auto-generated but can be changed. The username has to be unique.
  • The password is auto-generated but can be changed. Please make sure it is at least 8 characters long.
  • Choose the student role for student accounts and teacher for teacher accounts.
  1. Click ADD.

Add multiple users

  1. Select the three-dot ellipsis button (...) > Manage people.
  2. Click Add New User.
  3. Press Add Multiple Users.
  4. Enter user details following the format suggested. You can also follow these instructions to invite people with a CSV file.
Newly registered users will appear at the top of the list, and more users will be loaded as you scroll down!

Once the users are added, students and teachers will get an email notification with details on how to join your organization.

By default, owners and teachers can invite users. Teachers can also edit student account details by default. However, only the owner can edit teacher account details and delete users. Learn more about roles.

Allow third-party log in

Account owners can also allow self-registration for their organization by enabling Third-party Log in for users. This way, users can use their school-issued email addresses to log in. Most importantly, you just have to share your official Backpack address (<myschool>.padlet.org) for people to join your account.

  1. To turn on Google/Microsoft/ClassLink log in, sign in to your unique Backpack account (it will be a URL ending in padlet.org [i.e. hogwarts.padlet.org] and not padlet.com).
  2. Click the three-dot ellipsis button (...) on the bottom left-hand corner of your dashboard.
  3. Click Settings > Organization info.
  4. Use the pencil icon next to 'Third party log in' to choose between Google, Microsoft or ClassLink log in.
  5. Move the toggle to the ON position for 'Create student accounts automatically.'

No need to do anything else. Your choices will be saved automatically!

Sending out an invite link is the most convenient way to get people to join your organization. With links, you can add people without assigning usernames and passwords or filling out a spreadsheet. This is especially useful when inviting users in bulk with assigned user roles.

Owners and Admins can share invite links by performing the following steps:

  1. Select the three-dot ellipsis button (...) > Manage people.
  2. Click Add New User.
  3. Select Invite Links.
  4. Click the COPY button next to the designated role for the recipient.

Recipients will be prompted to sign up and their roles are automatically assigned based on the link they access.

Invite links do not expire but account owners have the option to disable invite link sharing and reset the URLs to control the registration to the Backpack account.

Edit users

Once a user is added, you can edit their display name, username, email, and role.

Edit a single user

From the Manage people page, click anywhere in the row of the user you want to edit and then click EDIT. If you want to update their role, click the dropdown menu next to 'Role' and select the correct option. Once you've updated the user, click SAVE.

Pro tip: Use the Bulk select users button for searching and editing member account information.

After entering their username or email address, click Review > Expand user.

The next page will show options for viewing, editing and deleting the user's school account.

Edit multiple users' roles

If you want to edit the roles of multiple users, start by bulk-selecting the users. You can choose to tick the boxes on each user's row, or as we highly recommend, you can click the Bulk Select Users button and upload a list of emails or usernames.

Upon selecting Bulk Select Users, you can input the usernames or emails of the users on the 'Select Multiple Users' page (one user per line) and then click Review. Here, you have the choice to perform bulk deletion or suspension by clicking Delete Users or Suspend Users, modify their roles by selecting Change roles, or access expanded user information for review and adjustment as needed for single-user selection.

Want to learn more about the difference between user roles? Learn more here.

Remove users

When a student or teacher leaves, the account owner may delete their user accounts. All padlets associated with the account will be deleted permanently - so please proceed with caution.

Bulk delete users

  1. Sign in to Padlet Backpack.
  2. Click the three-dot ellipsis button (...) > Manage people.
  3. Tick the box next to the user's View button. Once ticked, the Bulk Delete Users button on top will turn from gray to pink, indicating that it is clickable.
  4. Select Bulk Delete Users > Continue.
  1. Finally, enter the 4-digit code to confirm removal and press DELETE.

Bulk assign user roles

Here is how to adjust user roles in bulk.

  1. Sign in to your Padlet Backpack account.
  2. On the homepage, click the three-dot ellipsis button (...) > Manage people.
  1. Click Bulk Select Users.
  1. Enter the usernames or email addresses > Review.
  2. Click Change roles > Continue.
  3. Choose the role you want for the selected users using the dropdown box.
  1. Finally, click Change Roles.


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)