How to adjust the privacy settings
It's simple! Click SHARE >> Change Privacy Settings >> Submit. If you're using the app, it is the people icon next to the refresh button 🔄 on the top right.
Here's how each setting works:
When you create a new padlet, the address (or URL) is only known to you and not published elsewhere. When you share the address with others, either through email or social networks, the padlet becomes semi-private as people who have the link can access it as well. In a padlet's Share menu, this setting is known as "Secret".
Password-protected padlets are not public and can only be viewed by people who have the password set by the creator.
Passwords can be set by clicking on the "Password" setting on a padlet's share menu, then keying in the password in the password field. Passwords are remembered for 24 hours (read more about it here).
A private padlet is not viewable to anyone except its creator and the people its creator has explicitly invited as contributors. Private padlets, as the name suggests, are marked as "Private" in the Share menu.
Enter their email or Padlet username in the 'Add contributors' form, select what privileges they can have (can write/moderate/administer) and we'll send them an email AND a notification (read more about this here).
Org-wide (for Backpack and Briefcase members)
Organization-wide padlets are published to all members of an organization. It is ideal for school-wide announcements and boards.
Padlets set as Public show up in Google searches and are featured by Padlet on the homepage.
Visitors can collectively be assigned the following rights to your padlet:
Can view the padlet and the posts. Cannot add new posts, edit existing posts, or change the padlet.
Can view the padlet and write posts. Can only edit his/her posts but not ones written by others. Cannot change the padlet.
Can view and write. Can edit any post and approve posts that require moderation. Cannot change the padlet.
Can do anything - view, write, edit, moderate. They can also change the padlet and delete it. (Administrator rights can only be awarded after you have logged in).